Banana Bread Cookies!

9 Oct

Bananas get gobbled up around here really quickly.  One day the fruit basket is overflowing, the next there’s only one left.  So I’ve been sitting on some banana bread type recipes to try for a while now.  Imagine my excitement when I saw these in the fruit basket!!

First up was a healthy French toast recipe.  The idea was to craft a stiff enough ‘bread’ out of oatmeal that it would hold up to being turned into French toast.  Last weekend I tried a pumpkin spice variety, this weekend was banana bread.  Both failed.  But I’m not giving up…you’ll see that recipe perfected eventually.

With two bananas left and banana bread still on the mind, I made cookies.  Still reasonably healthy, believe it or not.

I definitely left half of the oatmeal out of these so the batter ended up liquidy, and the cookies spread out into flat little disks.  Seeing as I don’t know the next time I will have brown bananas though, I wanted to let you know about these now because they are delicious.  The recipe at the end of this post calls for 1 cup of oats, and that’s the proper amount (I only used ½ a cup).

Even flat, the insides of these cookies are still fluffy, moist, and by some sort of textural miracle, exactly like bread.  This is basically banana bread with portion control (I don’t know about you, but I make a loaf of banana bread and devour most of it myself without a second thought).

And seriously, these could not be easier to make.  You ready for this?

Mash up some bananas until they start to get juicy.

Then beat in the sugar, egg, melted butter, and vanilla.

And then stir in your dry ingredients: flour, salt, baking soda, cinnamon, and oats

I used old-fashioned rolled oats instead of the 5-minute quick cook oats recommended in the original recipe.  If you do that, you’ll want to let the batter sit for 10 minutes or so before you bake to allow the oats to absorb some of the moisture.

Or at least that’s what I plan to do next time I make these (which I most definitely will).  Should take some of the bite out of the raw oats, and make the batter less runny (end result: plump cookies).

 Bake 10-12 minutes until the edges are slightly brown and the cookies are set in the middle.  I baked these on a cookie sheet lined with tin foil sprayed with non-stick spray, and they were a wee bit sticky, so use parchment paper instead if you’ve got it.

With only 2 T of butter, you may be tempted to leave it out.  I wouldn’t recommend that…the small amount makes the cookies just gummy enough to behave like bread (not crumby like most cookies), but without any fat you risk ending up with very gummy textured cookies…not delicious.

Plus, the recipe makes 13 cookies (I got 10 using a 1 oz ice cream scoop to divide the batter, but I also left out ½ cup of oatmeal…1 oz is 2 tablespoons, btw) and each is just under 100 calories!  So add that butter.

—-

Banana Bread Cookies
Adapted from Cookies and Cups
Makes 13 cookies
1.5 very ripe bananas, mashed (about ¾ cups)
1/2 cup brown sugar (either dark or light)
2 T melted butter
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg white
3/4 cups flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1 cup quick oats (see notes)

Optional: ¼ cup of chocolate chips, walnuts, or raisins

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper
  • In a large bowl, mash your bananas until they become liquidy
  • Beat the sugar, butter, vanilla and egg white in with the bananas until well combined and light in color
  • Stir in flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and oats
  • Measure out 1 oz (2 T) dollops of batter, spaced a few inches apart on your cookie sheet
  • Bake 10-12 minutes, until edges are slightly brown and centers are set

Notes:

  • If you use old fashioned rolled oats instead of quick cook, you may want to let the batter sit for 10-15 minutes before baking to allow the oats to absorb some of the moisture
  • I used 3/8 cup all purpose flour and 3/8 cup oat flour (just spin your oats in a food processor until fine) with good results
Leave a Reply

