Thai Turkey Burgers

1 Oct

I’ve been meaning to make these for forever…well, at least since I made Orchard Turkey Burgers, and they did not disappoint!  I’m really taking a liking to turkey burgers.  I don’t add extra seasonings to ground beef patties (besides salt and pepper) because I prefer for the meat and toppings to shine, but ground turkey is pretty bland on its own, so it’s a fabulous medium for getting more creative with additions into the burger itself.

Plus, with all the veggies inside, even if you overcook the burger, it will still be plenty moist =]

—-

First, the veggies…shredded carrots, finely chopped broccoli (mine was thawed from frozen), and one finely chopped green onion.

I always wondered what ‘one green onion’ was…was it one stalk, or one full onion (like everything attached to the root bulb)?  For these burgers I used everything attached to one root bulb and it was just the right amount of oniony, so I’mma go with that definition from now on.

The recipe called for addition of peanut sauce and cilantro in with this mixture, but the boyfriend doesn’t like peanut butter and we all know how I feel about cilantro, so that didn’t happen.

I did add about a tsp of hot sauce (use more if you want some real heat!), and ¼ tsp ground ginger though.

Then just mix everything up well!  I used a spoon in an attempt to not pack the meat too much, but in the end, the burgers were on the fragile side from all the veggies, so I had to pack them tightly so they would stay together.

This makes four patties…throw them on a pan over medium heat for 4-5 minutes per side (and I cover for the last two or so minutes of cooking to rehydrate the patties and hold some heat in so they totally cook through)

I served mine with peanut sauce and a side of homemade yukon gold baked fries.

These burgers are tasty.  They are juicy and fluffy (a little too much so…a bit on the fragile side), with just the right amount of flavor without anything being overwhelming…the onions, ginger and hot sauce came together so nicely.  I think even more exciting than the flavors here though are the textures!

Specifically, the shredded carrots.  In fact, I bit into this burger, looked at the boyfriend and said “…this tastes like a meatball.”  I couldn’t figure out why I thought that though.  Slowly while I finished the (delicious) burger, memories of ground beef mixed with shredded potatoes and…maybe onion soup mix? were returning to me.

While I was washing dishes, it all came together!  The texture of these burgers is exactly that of meatballs my parents used to make.  They were large ground beef meatballs with shredded potatoes and onions inside, and I’m pretty sure we ate them over mashed potatoes with gravy.  Now I must recreate those meatballs!

So basically, I love these burgers…one of my best dinners yet.  They are fresh, colorful, the flavors are great, the textures are great, and I got a nice childhood memory out of the experience…score.  =]

—-

Thai Turkey Burgers
Adapted from Iowa Girl Eats
Makes 4 burgers
½ cup shredded carrots (about 1 ½ full sized carrots)
½ cup finely chopped broccoli
1 finely chopped green onion
¼ tsp ground ginger
½ tsp salt
1 tsp hot sauce (more if you want them hotter)
1 lb. ground turkey (I used 7% fat…I couldn’t find leaner.  Especially if you incorporate some peanut sauce into these burgers though, leaner would be fine)
4 hamburger buns

Peanut Sauce

3 Tablespoons smooth peanut butter
1 Tablespoon rice vinegar
1 Tablespoon soy sauce
1 Tablespoon water
1 teaspoon hot sauce/siracha
1 teaspoon honey
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

  • To make the burgers: Combine all ingredients well in a large bowl, form into four patties and cook on a greased pan over medium heat 4-5 minutes per side (I cover for the last 1-2 minutes of cooking)
  • While the burgers cook, make your sauce: whisk all ingredients together in a small bowl (or food processor) until smooth.  Serve sauce as a condiment with the burgers.
Leave a Reply

