Going Fauxrabar Crazy!…and some quad rugby

30 Sep

Thursday was another quad rugby practice and this morning we headed off early for a  clinic in Richmond!  The boyfriend talked to some prospective players about the game all authoritative like, and then they scrimmaged for a bit.

He’s on the left and closest to the camera with the white shirt, if you were wondering.

I usually get into a chair and play with the boys at practices.  I’ve been doing that for a while now, so they’ve started hitting me a lot harder thinking that I’m no longer a wimp.  Unfortunately I am a wimp.  Plus, they use this stuff on the ball—klister, stickum…it’s this elasticy goo that is the stickiest stuff you’ve ever felt.  The only thing that will get it off is a metric ton of rubbing alcohol.

You carry the ball between your thighs in this sport.  Here’s what happens when a sticky ball gets ripped out of your sweaty legs multiple times:

My fault for not wearing longer shorts or pants, but this was so painful!

The point is that I’ve now started reffing practices instead.  Reffing is awesome.  I feel so powerful with a whistle and the ability to eject players from the game…I love it…mwahaha.

—-

As far as food, I didn’t have a chance to cook much, but I did whip up some delicious snacks for the trip:

Alright, so the term fauxrabar definitely sounded better in my head than when I tried to say it out loud.  Regardless, I still think it’s clever!  So it stays…especially because I’ve gone fauxrabar crazy the past week or so (after trying the oatmeal raisin cookie variety…I’m hooked).  They’re just SO EASY to make, and I’m thinking that with so many dried fruits, nuts, spices and extracts out there, I can make any flavor combination my heart desires!  Oh the power!

The crazy started with an Almond Joy variety.  The first batch was alright, but I knew there was room for improvement.  So I whipped up a batch this morning and was much happier with the results:

Makes 2 large or 3 small bars
1/4 cup raisins
3/4 cup shredded dried coconut (I used sweetened but only because I couldn’t find unsweetened)
1 T unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4-1/2 tsp almond extract

Just throw everything but the almond extract into a food processor and let it run for 30 seconds or so until everything comes together and the the raisins are chopped up finely.  Then drizzle in the almond extract and buzz it again.  If the mixture doesn’t seem sticky, pour in up to 1 tsp of water and blend it again.  It will look like this:

Then just pack it into a block and divide into two or three bars! (Do this on saran wrap or in a plastic bag if you don’t want your hands to get sticky).

You might be tempted to add almonds into this, since it’s an almond joy…feel free to replace ¼ cup of the coconut.  I used walnuts in the first batch and just didn’t like the texture of the little bits of nuts.  Plus, everyone knows almond joy bars are all about the chocolate and coconut anyway…and the almond extract adds some warm, sweet, almond flavor.

—-

The highlight of my fauxrabar making is my Cranberry Bliss Fauxrabar that is out of this world.  So freaking good.  If you’re familiar with the seasonal pastry from Starbucks (cranberry bliss bars), that’s kind of what these taste like…cranberry, white chocolate, and oats.  Here’s how I did it, but if you replaced the vanilla extract with orange extract, it would probably taste even more like the pastry:

Makes 3 bars

1/2 cup dried cranberries
1/4 cup walnuts (cashews or pecans would probably also work)
6 T dry oatmeal
1 T white chocolate
1/8 – 1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp vanilla extract (or orange)

First, add the oatmeal to the food processor and chop until a fine powder.  Then add in the walnuts, cranberries, white chocolate, and salt.

Process until it reaches a uniform texture.  It will still be quite dry.

Now pour in the extract and give it another buzz.

Mine was moist, but it wasn’t sticky, so I added water in 1/2 tsp increments until it started pulling away from the sides and center of the food processor (it only needed about 1 tsp)

Then just press it into a block and then divide into three bars!  Here’s a reference for how much total dough this makes…next to a toothpick.

 So it’s not very much dough, but these are an easily portable and relatively nutritious sweet snack.

—-

I have written down so many more varieties I can’t wait to try…Gingerbread, Cranberry Coconut, and Maple-Pecan to name a few!  I just have to eat up all the ones I’ve already made…

That shouldn’t be a problem.

PS, I promise I’ve got some good posts coming up! Thai turkey burgers (finally), pumpkin pie bars, and the easiest, tastiest pie you will ever encounter, to name a few!

Leave a Reply

