The Best and Easiest Sweet Potato/Yukon Gold Fries

10 Sep

As promised, I am sharing my favorite way to make baked sweet potato or yukon gold fries, but first a final report on quad rugby at the Paralympics.  It went like this:

USA took bronze over Japan, with a score of 53-43, then Australia beat Canada for gold with a score of 66-51.

For those of you unfamiliar with the point spreads on these games, a 1-5 spread is a pretty close game, a 10 point difference is a solid win, anything more than that is a sign of an unbalanced match.  Games with point differences more than 20 are a slaughter. With a 15 point difference in the gold medal game, as predicted, Canada got wrecked.

—-

Now onto the fries.  I have tried to bake fries every which way, and have yet to find a method that produces better results than this one.  I have tried to parboil and then bake, I have tried to parboil then toss with egg whites then bake.  You name it, I’ve tried it.  It always takes HOURS, and the results are not worth it.

Then I found this recipe.  25 minutes tops from potato to beautiful baked fries.

It’s.so.easy.

All you need (for 1-2 people) is:

1 large yukon gold potato, 1 T olive oil, salt and pepper, and onion and/or garlic powder (optional)

OR

1 medium sweet potato, 1 T olive oil, salt and pepper, cinnamon (optional)

—-

First, preheat your oven to 425 degrees and grease a sheet pan.

Then slice your potato into thin rounds.  This is most easily done with a mandolin slicer.  I have one, but I don’t have a dishwasher, and I’m scared to wash the thing because it has lots of sharp blades and I value my finger tips.  So I just used a sharp knife.

Why Yukon golds?  Surely not because I was too lazy to break out the potato peeler…

Okay, that may have been part of it.  But I chose Yukon golds because they have a similar water content to sweet potatoes, which also work very well with this method (and are what I usually use).

Toss it with 1 T of olive oil.  The slices tend to stick together, so shake it well!

Lay these in a single layer on your baking sheet and sprinkle generously with salt and pepper.  These would be great with a sprinkle of onion powder and garlic powder too (cinnamon if you’re using sweet potatoes).

Then into the oven for 13 minutes.  I know, random time.  It’s always worked perfectly for me.  Set a timer.

Pull those potatoes out, give them a flip, another sprinkle of salt and pepper, then back into the oven.  Turn the heat up to 450 and cook for another 10-13 minutes.

Cut your slices just a touch thicker if you want to avoid the uh…burned ones.  They’re actually my favorites though =]

They’re not quite as crispy as fried fries, but still very satisfying.  Toasty on the outside, soft in the center…these really hit the spot, especially for being so quick and easy!

Leave a Reply

