How to Cook Ravioli

28 Aug

I said yesterday it was rainy off and on all day, and it was more on then off as we drove home from campus.  But there was an upside!  Check out this rainbow!

Beautiful, RIGHT?  I think it was the clearest, biggest rainbow I’ve ever seen! Even in this out-of-focus, moving-car photo you can totally see all the colors.  The boyfriend has late classes, so we were pretty hungry at this point, and waiting for us at the end of that rainbow?

GOLD.  Gold on your stove top.  Like I said, it was late and we were hungry, and this was ready in 15 minutes!  It comes together so quick, and tastes incredible.

This post is more about a technique for cooking ANY fresh pasta type ravioli.  I saw it here, and thought it looked far superior to the usual boiling method of cooking pasta (not that there’s anything wrong with that).

First, get a skillet on the stove over medium heat and pour in a bit of olive oil.

Touch a ravioli to the oil, and if it sizzles, it’s ready to go.  Lay them down in the pan!

      When the back sides are brown (3-5 minutes) pour in ~1/3 cup water (it will splatter, be careful), and cover for a minute or two to let them steam cook.

They’ll be translucent at this point; remove the lid.  I flipped my ravioli over to attempt to crisp up the other side too while the rest of the water boiled off.

Once the water has boiled off and the ravioli are translucent and soft, remove from heat.

Meanwhile, get your sauce started!  For my sweet potato ravioli, I made a brown butter sauce with toasted walnuts.

First I toasted about a ¼ cup of chopped walnuts in a pan over medium heat.  No oil required, just toss often, and smell them.  They’ll smell toasty and nutty when they’re done (great description, I know).  It takes about 3-5 minutes.  Then throw in ~3 T of butter.

Browning butter…it’s pretty easy once you’ve done it a few times.  First the butter gets foamy, then it mellows out.  At this point, you should stir, smell the butter, and tilt the pan so the butter goes to one side.  It should smell nutty and be a caramel color.  There may be little brown flecks in it, which is okay.  It takes 3-4 minutes on medium heat.  But pay attention, because it goes from browned to burnt in about a minute.  If you were to add some fresh herbs—thyme or sage would be ideal—I’d stir some in, finely diced, while the butter is still warm.  Remove from heat.

I meant to use a lighter colored pan so you could see this, but I forgot…and this is my favorite pan!  It was $2.99 at IKEA, it’s totally non-stick (Teflon, which probably will give me cancer), and it’s lasted me like 2 or 3 years…not a bad deal.  Except for the cancer.

Anyway, at this point, scoop yourself up some of those toasty, buttery walnuts and drizzle some of that nutty browned butter over your heavenly sweet potato pillows and enjoy!

I think I added too much oil in the beginning and not enough water in the steaming stage, so they ended up more fried (as opposed to steamed) than I would have liked…but then again, when is anything not better fried?  These were superb, and I will totally use this method again next time I make ravioli.

I served mine with a side of roasted brussel sprouts!  The perfect crunch and green freshness needed to make me feel like this meal was remotely healthy.

You’ve gotta try these, guys.  They cook up quick, and they are simply divine!

I will be posting the recipe for the specific sweet potato filling and instructions on assembly tomorrow, in addition to raving about how CRAZY AMAZING these taste and how you need to make them immediately, so stay tuned!

One Response to “How to Cook Ravioli”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I survived!…and Sweet Potato Ravioli « Halite and Pepper - August 29, 2012

    […] immediately in boiling water or with thismethod on the stovetop, or freeze for up to five […]

Leave a Reply

